Country Basketball League 2019/20 teams announced

The 2019/20 Country Basketball League season is rapidly approaching with the first round scheduled for tip off 12 October.

This season, 63 teams, including four teams from South Australia, from across 36 associations will compete in the four-conference CBL format across Country Victoria.

Lakes Entrance will join the Country Basketball League for the first time, joining the Gippsland Men’s Conference for the 2019/20 season. Also returning to the league will be Southern Peninsula and Stawell.

Benalla, Millicent, Seymour, Wallan, Mt Gambier and Hamilton have also put forward additional teams to help the league expand once again to 63, breaking the league record of 57 set last season.  

This growth in the league has also enabled the North West and North East Women’s Conferences to return after they were combined for the CBL’s 2018/19 season.

CBL Coordinator Sammy Cartwright was excited to see the league expand again in 2019/20 as it showcases the strength of Country domestic basketball competitions and the desire to represent their town.

“League team registrations have steadily risen and we’re pleased to see a number of new and returning associations join the Country Basketball League this year,” Cartwright said. “This will be the first time the CBL has more than 60 teams participating and this highlights the passion and excitement throughout Country Victoria.

“We welcome Lakes Entrance to the league for the very first time and are pleased to see Southern Peninsula and Stawell return to CBL in 2019/20.

“We’re keen to see October roll around so we can commence another massive season in the Country Basketball League.

Teams have been distributed across the four CBL conferences as follows:



Churchill (Men)

Korumburra (Men & Women)

Lakes Entrance (Men)

Maffra (Men & Women)

Moe (Men & Women)

Sale (Men & Women)

Southern Peninsula (Men)

Traralgon (Men & Women)

Warragul (Men & Women)



Benalla (Men & Women)

Myrtleford (Men & Women)

Seymour (Men & Women)

Shepparton (Men & Women)

Wallan (Men & Women)

Wangaratta (Men & Women)

Wodonga (Men & Women)



Bacchus Marsh (Men)

Bendigo (Men & Women)

Castlemaine (Men)

Echuca (Men & Women)

Kyneton (Men & Women)

Maryborough (Men & Women)

Mildura (Men)

Swan Hill (Men & Women)



Ararat (Men)

Bellarine (Men & Women)

Colac (Men & Women)

Geelong (Men & Women)

Hamilton (Men & Women?)

Horsham (Men & Women)

Millicent(Men & Women)

Mt Gambier (Men & Women)

Portland (Men & Women)

Stawell (Men)

Terang (Men)

Warrnambool (Men & Women)

other headlines:
General News
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News