BVC 2020 Under 16 and Under 18 Division 1 & 2 Winners

Country Championships kicked off with a bang in 2020 with Bendigo Stadium hosting some of the hottest basketball products in the state.

Together, the Under 16 and Under 18 compatriots put on a a dazzling display across the two-day tournament. Ending in style, eight champions who excelled were applauded and crowned as victors.

Congratulations are in order for the following associations who took home titles – Shepparton, Horsham, Bendigo and Wangaratta secured girls championships, while Warrnambool, Southern Peninsula, Bendigo and Shepparton took home trophies for the boys.

Basketball Victoria Country Events and Community Program Coordinator Sammy Cartwright praised tournament officials for another successful weekend.

“Having 74 teams all under the one roof at Bendigo Stadium is a feat in itself, and we must appreciate all the hard work and effort that goes into running an event like this,” Cartwright explained.

“To the players, coaches and officials on the court, as well as the advisors and tournament officials both on the sidelines and in the lead-up, we couldn’t put these events on without your dedication to the craft.”

Under 16 Boys

Warrnambool – Under 16 Boys Division One Champions. Image: BVC

Warrnambool 70 def Geelong United 42

WBOOL: George Stevens 26 points

Referees: Liam Harrison & Thomas Cossens

Southern Peninsula – Under 16 Boys Division Two Champions. Image: BVC

Wonthaggi 55 def by Southern Peninsula 60

SP: Corey Hastings 24 points

Referees: Lachie Dawson & Joel Saines

Under 16 Girls

Shepparton – Under 16 Girls Division One Champions. Image: BVC

Southern Peninsula 27 def by Shepparton 52

SHEP: Hannah Onley 19 points

Referees: Ataliah Zito & Courtney Carroll

Horsham – Under 16 Girls Division Two Champions. Image: BVC

Bendigo 39 def by Horsham 45

HORSH: Grace Manserra 15 points

Referees: Meghan Hastie & Caitlin Newcombe

Under 18 Boys

Bendigo – Under 18 Boys Division One Champions. Image: BVC

Traralgon 36 def by Bendigo 55

BEN: Dyson Daniels 16 points

Referees: Lachlan Saines, Mitch Lay & Cory Bannister

Shepparton – Under 18 Boys Division Two Champions. Image: BVC

Mildura 54 def by Shepparton 65

SHEP: Tom Brown 22 points

Referees: Christopher Crosbie, Joel Lay & Sean Downing

Under 18 Girls

Bendigo – Under 18 Girls Division One Champions. Image: BVC

Bendigo 55 def Mildura 34

BEN: Piper Dunlop/Caitlin Richardson 12 points

Referees: Eliza Singleton, Daniel Nancarrow & Aimy Freeman

Wangaratta – Under 18 Girls Division Two Champions. Image: BVC

Macedon Ranges 28 def by Wangaratta 38

WANG: Ebony Norris 14 points

Referees: Russell Robinson, Mitchell Bond & Bryce Brand

The attention is now placed on Ballarat as the Division Three and Four tournament of the Under 16 and Under 18’s takes place on March 14 and 15. 

other headlines:
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News