BVC History

13016387_10154736683508572_36452320_oUntil 1964, basketball in country Victoria was played on an ad hoc basis in various parts of the state, in some cases all year round but mainly during the summer months so as not to clash with local football, and without any form of country governing administrative body.

At the 1966 Country Annual Delegates Meeting in November at Country Week, it was decided that an attempt should be made to form a genuine country governing committee to do more than just conduct Country Week, but also to play a significant role in the future direction of basketball in country Victoria.

Delegates from 12 associations – Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong, Mildura, Southern Cross (Albury), Hamilton, Korumburra, Maryborough, Traralgon, Robinvale, Swan Hill and Dandenong attended the meeting on Sunday 28 May 1967 together with Jack Terrill and Ken Watson.

The meeting formed a committee of Jack Terrill as President, Max Brisbane as Secretary, with Colin Wale (Traralgon), Ken Holt (Swan Hill) and Colin James (Albury) as further members.


The first country diary was produced with exactly four entries:

  • Country Week
  • Country Championships
  • Junior Championships
  • Country Delegates Conference

Country Council Presidents

Since that first meeting, there have been eight presidents of the Country Council:

  • Jack Terrill (Geelong) May 1967 – March 1973
  • Ron Dawson (Geelong) March 1973 – March 1978
  • George Munro (Swan Hill) May 1978 – June 1981
  • Bob Osborne (Maryborough) June 1981 – June 1999
  • Jeff McKerrow (Wodonga) June 1999 – Sept 2010
  • Rod Bush (Geelong) Sept 2002 – Sept 2010
  • Peter Eddy (Ballarat) Sept 2010 – Sept 2013
  • Matthew Cowling Sept 2013 – 2015
  • Bill Jeffs – 2015 – current