Victorians selected for Australian Opals Pre-Olympic Tournament

BASKETBALL Australia have announced the Australian Opals roster for the FIBA Asian Pre-Olympic Qualifying Tournament. 

Victorian representatives Rebecca Allen, Liz Cambage, Tress Lavey, Ezi Magbegor and Jenna O’Hea have been selected to represent the Opals in the tournament will take place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 14 November. The tournament is part of a new qualification system with Pre-Olympic qualification tournaments held in the other zones simultaneously, including the Pan-American and African zones.

Australian Opals Head Coach Sandy Brondello said that this tournament not only allows some valuable time together as a group, but also enables the coaches further opportunities to evaluate different players leading into the Olympic qualifying window in February 2020.

“It is great to name Liz Cambage and Marianna Tolo back in the team,” Brondello said. “They are both key players for us and it is important that we get them back integrated in the Opals system as much as we can as we move forward.

“Tess Madgen and Tessa Lavey played good roles for us at World Cup and get another opportunity with the team during this window.”

The team named as follows:

Rebecca Allen                 Arka Gdynia Poland / New York Liberty      
Elizabeth Cambage  China / Las Vegus Aces
Katie-Rae Ebzery  Perth Lynx
Darcee Garbin  JCU Townsville Fire
Cayla George  Deakin University Melbourne Boomers
Tess Lavey  Bendigo Spirit
Tess Madgen  JCU Townsville Fire
Ezi Magbegor  Deakin University Melbourne Boomers
Leilani Mitchell  Southside Flyers
Jenna O’Hea  Southside Flyers
Steph Talbot  Adelaide Lightning/Minnesota Lynx
Marianna Tolo  University of Canberra Capitals

The Opals will play in the following games:

14 November 16:00 AUS v TPE MABA Stadium Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
16 November 16:00 IND v AUS
17 November 16:00 JPN v AUS


other headlines:
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News
Featured News